Arts, A/V Technology, and Communications

Artstor's public collection

Download, share, and remix 2D and 3D images from the Smithsonian's vast collection.

The BBC Sound Effects Archive is available for personal, educational, or research purposes. There are over 33,000 clips from across the world from the past 100 years.
As well as browsing and searching through this treasure trove of sounds, you can also make and share your own mixes and soundscapes using the ‘mixer mode’ function. Use the mixer to layer, edit, and re-order clips from the archive to create your own sounds.

The Free Music Archive offers free downloads of over 150,000 original songs under Creative Commons and other licenses.

Part of the Internet Archive. Watch classic animated cartoons from the 1930's and 1940's! These cartoons are from the Film Chest collection, a leading source of film and video programming and stock footage. All these cartoons have been transferred from original 35 film prints and digitally remastered. The collection includes classics such as Bugs Bunny, Woody Woodpecker, Popeye, Porky Pig, The Three Stooges, and others.

The Library of Congress Digital Collections provides online access to film, audio, and images to the general public. These massive collections are grouped into smaller theme specific collections to aid users in discovering these digital materials. The media is available for download in a variety of formats including gif, jpg, mp3, and mp4.

The Stock Footage archive is also a part of the Internet Archive. The Stock Footage archive is a great resource for raw footage to be edited into a new project. All media on this site is submitted by the public and requires a Creative Commons license. This site includes public domain footage. Users can search the archive by titles and keywords or browse collections by date, view, creator, and language. The media is available for download in a variety of formats including mp4.